Skip to content
May 9, 2011 / thebengaliheart

Option to disable KDE wallet in Rekonq

I have this habit, or paranoia rather, of not storing my passwords with the browser. I never let the browser remember passwords for me. Maybe this is because a lot of my friends use my laptop at times, and it becomes risky to have autologin on for websites. So whenever I use a browser, the first thing I do is turn off the ‘Offer to store passwords’ option or similar. I was sad that Rekonq, my favourite browser, did not have this feature. So I wrote this patch that adds a setting which allows the user to disable the notification saying "Do you want to store the …" by unchecking a checkbox. Here goes a screenshot –

Snapshot of the settings dialog

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. merez / May 10 2011 12:09 am

    Thanks very much for this. Good job.

  2. damian / May 10 2011 2:04 am

    I think that text is a bit ambiguous, when I read it I understad that if checked it will use kwallet and if not, it will still store passwords but encrypted.
    I would say users do not care if it is kwallet or any other app, I would say “Store passwords for auto-login”, or maybe “Store passwords in Kwallet”

  3. Cedric / May 10 2011 2:15 am

    Not sure adding this as an option is a good idea, it’s a minor feature that should go as an hidden option in rekonqrc… I think…

  4. Mike / May 10 2011 2:59 am

    I like this option. However, I think it would be better to rename the setting to just say Store login information. Otherwise one may think that if not checked, login information is still stored, just not in a kwallet, similar to the Use KGet to download option. I did.
    Maybe add the kwallet info in an hover-link or break up the description into two sentences?

  5. Mike / May 10 2011 3:02 am

    (repost, got a timeout the first time)
    I like this option. However, I think it would be better to rename the setting to just say Store login information. Otherwise one may think that if not checked, login information is still stored, just not in a kwallet, similar to the Use KGet to download option. I did.
    Maybe add the kwallet info in an hover-link or break up the description into two sentences?

  6. Aaron Seigo / May 10 2011 4:17 am

    one suggestion: try to remove some of the jargon if possible. “wallet”, “the KDE wallet”, even “KGet” (and hopefully those options are hidden if kget is not installed?) are jargon. it would be nice if the settings spoke instead to functionality and user benefit rather than the names of binaries or technical jargon. πŸ™‚

    nice to see working continuing on rekonq to bring it ever closer to first class status πŸ™‚

  7. thebengaliheart / May 10 2011 4:19 pm

    thanks everyone for all your suggestions. Indeed it did sound confusing when I thought about it. So I changed it to “Offer to store passwords and login information” instead of “use KDE wallet to store passwords”.

  8. Ray / May 10 2011 7:55 pm

    I might be missing something, but isn’t the functionality you seek already in the KWallet application?

    If you don’t want to store passwords, you can uncheck the Enable KDE Wallet System box. If you only want to prevent Rekonq passwords, Disconnect the app from the wallet, and/or cancel the kwallet password prompt when in rekonq.

    • thebengaliheart / May 10 2011 8:59 pm

      I was not aware of this. How do i disconnect Rekonq from KDE wallet? because when i try to run KWalletManager, no window comes up. So cannot test it. Can you try disconnecting it and please check if the “Store password ..” prompts are gone?

Trackbacks

  1. Links 10/5/2011: More on SimplyMEPIS 11, Ubuntu Hype | Techrights

Leave a Reply

