Skip to content
May 2, 2011 / thebengaliheart

Getting GSOC – the awesomest experience!

And finally my dream came true. I am a GSoCer now. Even though it sounds maybe like a GNOME game for soccer, I am going to work under KDE 🙂

My work is for Rekonq, the lightweight browser which is tightly integrated into KDE. It has been two months now since I’ve been using KDE, and it has been ~ 25 days since I wrote my first patch for Rekonq. My idea was original and not already there in the ideas list of KDE. I suggested it on the rekonq mailing list, and it was accepted.

WIll start with the preparations as soon as the exams are over. I’m keeping up with the community in the meantime.

Will come up with details of my project very soon, when my blog is added to planetkde.org. Till then, bye blog. Here is my proposal abstract:
http://www.google-melange.com/gsoc/project/google/gsoc2011/wyuka/12001

And here goes the link to my proposal, in case anyone wants to refer to a sample proposal while participating next time:
http://www.google-melange.com/gsoc/proposal/review/google/gsoc2011/wyuka/1

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Praveen Kumar / May 2 2011 7:44 pm

    Best of Luck 🙂

  2. Vladislav Blanton / May 5 2011 10:34 pm

    Wow, very cool project idea. It seems that more and more grouping is introduced at different levels of the desktop. Anyway, as a daily rekonq user i hope this one comes through!

  3. evergreenpsyche / May 8 2011 6:24 am

    Sounds like a nice addition to rekonq.

    Parts of your proposal reminded me of the various “read it later” tools that are popular extensions to many browsers and phones.

    It’s not really within the scope of your project, but If it were implemented using an accompanying online service (such as this), it would give rekonq cross-platform support for free. This would be especially nice for smartphone users.

    Best of luck with your project 🙂

Leave a Reply

